What Is the Crash Bandicoot Lost Treasures DLC All About?

Crash Bandicoot 2 Cortex Strikes Back

If you’ve checked out the Trophy list for Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy, then you’ve probably noticed something listed called Crash Bandicoot: Lost Treasures. So the big question around the water cooler lately is what exactly is this Lost Treasures thing?

Update: We’ve found the answer to this riddle. But you can keep reading for the speculation we did back before we knew.

Well, the way it’s listed, it looks like DLC for the original Crash Bandicoot game. The name Lost Treasures seems to imply something that was lost, so many are speculating that we’re going to get to play some of the content that was originally cut from the game.

Crash Bandicoot Lost Treasures Trophies

The top theory is that we’re probably going to see a level called Stormy Ascent, which was cut from Crash Bandicoot due to time constraints. Naughty Dog founder Jason Rubin said this was his favorite level in the game.

It wasn’t completely ignored in its time, though. If you owned a Game Shark (serious retro cred if you even remember what a Game Shark is — they were great!), you could actually play Stormy Ascent. Apparently, it was very similar to Slippery Climb, though possibly even more difficult.

Crash Bandicoot Stormy Ascent

The Stormy Ascent theory definitely seems plausible, though nothing has been officially confirmed.

It’s fair to point out that the name Lost Treasures is plural, perhaps implying that we’ll see more than just one cut stage in the DLC. And there are plenty of other cut levels that would be quite welcome. For example, there was a cavern stage that Naughty Dog never finished.

It’s pretty barebones, but it has a cool aesthetic. If it were fleshed out and finished, it could end up being something pretty cool.

Now, I should point out that Lost Treasures contains two Trophies. They’re both hidden, but we checked their data out of curiosity.

The first is a Silver Trophy called The Crown Jewel, and its description reads: “Seek and destroy.” The second is a Gold Trophy called An Ancient Antiquity, and its description reads: “Do hard time.”

A few theories have cropped up about what these refer to, but I’d say it seems pretty obvious. The Crown Jewel is probably awarded for breaking every box (the standard requirement for getting a Clear Gem in the first Crash Bandicoot game) in every level in the Lost Treasures DLC. An Ancient Antiquity would then be collecting the Gold Relic (or perhaps even the Platinum Relic, though I seriously doubt that) in every stage in the DLC.

Plus, since these Trophies are Silver and Gold, it seems even more evidence is building for a multi-stage DLC pack. It would be strange to award more than a Bronze for each of these tasks if it were truly a single stage, even an exceptionally difficult one.

Note that all of this is speculation and nothing has yet been officially confirmed from developer Vicarious Visions or publisher Activision. We’ll keep our ear to the ground for an announcement from official sources.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x