Every Summon on the Midgar Stage in Super Smash Bros. Ultimate

Super Smash Bros Ultimate - Materia

In Super Smash Bros. Ultimate, the Midgar stage makes a glorious return, providing some serious eye candy for fans of Final Fantasy VII. This time, however, Midgar is part of the base game instead of DLC.

Let’s rewind back to 1997 for a second. Final Fantasy VII, you might recall, had a skill system that had you slot colorful orbs into your items — these orbs were called Materia. One type of Materia (the red ones) allowed you to summon great beings from another realm. In the Midgar stage in Ultimate, you’ll see a red floaty orb appear at times throughout your battle — this is summon Materia, and it will allow you to use a summon in Super Smash Bros. Ultimate. There are five beasts to summon: Bahamut, Ifrit, Leviathan, Odin, and Ramuh.

You’ll notice that once you catch the summon Materia, a series of five colored circle icons will appear around your character. Each one of those circles represents a different summon (more on that later).

Now, I don’t blame you if it’s been a while since you’ve played Final Fantasy VII. The game is more than two decades old, and its visual style might not have stood the test of time (there is, however, a modern remake in the works). So you might not remember who all these big dudes were. Don’t worry. I’ve compiled a list to jog your memory.


Super Smash Bros Ultimate - Ifrit

Ifrit is a fire-type toasty being who loves to spit fire all over everything he touches. The attack he uses in Ultimate is appropriately called Hellfire, and it sends a blast of hot flames against the side of the battle platform. This causes the platform to rattle, and it spells certain doom for players tossed off the right-hand edge of the stage.

Ifrit is represented by one of the two red icons (Ifrit is associated with Red Magicite in Final Fantasy Brave Exvius).


Super Smash Bros Ultimate - Ramuh

Ramuh is a mighty wizard-looking guy who zaps things with bolts of lightning. In Ultimate, he uses his Judgment Bolt attack to strike the stage, causing the platforms to be electrocuted.

Ramuh is represented by the yellow icon (Ramuh is associated with Yellow Magicite in Final Fantasy Brave Exvius).


Super Smash Bros Ultimate - Leviathan

Leviathan is a snake-like sea monster. In Ultimate, he floods Midgar using his Tidal Wave attack, turning the battle platform into a tiny island made of steel and concrete. 

Leviathan is represented by the green icon (Leviathan is associated with both Green and Blue Magicite in Final Fantasy Brave Exvius, but since there is no blue icon, that means Leviathan’s color must be green).


Super Smash Bros Ultimate - Odin

If you’ve ever read any Norse mythology, this guy should be familiar. This is Odin, the All-Father, and he appears riding the eight-legged horse Sleipnir (who has quite an awkward origin story — look into it if you care to read about the time Loki was impregnated by a horse). The attack he uses in Ultimate is called Zantetsuken (or “Steel-Bladed Sword”), which slices the entire stage in half. Don’t get in its way.

Odin is the second summon represented by a red icon. This is a guess, of course, but it’s not unsupported in Final Fantasy lore. In Final Fantasy VIII, the side quest to acquire Odin involves plucking red gems from the eye sockets of a gargoyle, associating Odin with the color red.

Bahamut ZERO

Super Smash Bros Ultimate - Bahamut

Bahamut ZERO (or Bahamut Type-0) is a seriously powerful being. When summoned in Super Smash Bros. Ultimate, he creates a turquoise beam of energy that pretty much fries the entire city (an attack known in the Final Fantasy world as Teraflare). So much for that Mako reactor.

Bahamut ZERO is represented by the white icon, I believe, but only because that’s the only one that isn’t accounted for. Admittedly, this is the one I’m the least certain of.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x