The L. Ron Hubbard Writers and Illustrators of the Future Award Winners for Q3 2020 Have Been Announced

Writers and Illustrators of the Future

The L. Ron Hubbard Writers and Illustrators of the Future Awards are among the most prestigious awards an unpublished writer or illustrator can win in the field of speculative fiction. The awards are given out quarterly, and winning submissions are compiled into a yearly anthology.

If you’re a writer or illustrator who dabbles in speculative fiction, you should definitely look into submitting something. Or, if you’re a reader of speculative fiction, you might want to check out some of their anthologies, where you can find short fiction by up-and-comers.

Quarter 3 ended September 30, 2020, and the Q3 award winners have just been announced. Here they are:

The Writers of the Future 

  • First Place: Trent Walters from Missouri
  • Second Place: Luke Wildman from Indiana
  • Third Place: Erik Lynd from Washington

The Illustrators of the Future

  • Mariah Salinas from Florida
  • Dan Watson from the United Kingdom
  • Jeff Weiner from Nevada

The winners will be published in L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future, Volume 37 (2021).

If you want to check out the full lists of finalists and honorable mentions, the Writers of the Future list is here, and the Illustrators of the Future list is here. These are lengthy lists.

Congrats to the winners, and may they have long and prosperous careers ahead of them.

Disclaimer: I am a one-time Writers of the Future honorable mention.

Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
1 year ago

Thank you for posting this Josh. There is a lot of great talent on that list!

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x